1. Home

Exotic Pet Laws

Laws On Exotic Pets


Exotic Pet Laws


Photo © Getty Images/Nat Photos

New Mexico


  • It is unlawful for a person to possess non-domesticated felines, primates, crocodiles, alligators, and wolves. Their state website does have a permit application available for non-domestic animals though. (Policy Statement by the Department of Game & Fish)


New York


  • The law states you are not allowed to own any non-domestic feline or canine, bears, crocodiles, venomous reptiles, and primates.


North Carolina


  • This state allows individual counties and cities to create ordinances regarding exotic pets, therefore depending on where you live in North Carolina, you may or may not have any regulations.


North Dakota


  • Depending on what category your exotic pet falls into, you may or may not need a license/permit to own them. Inherently dangerous animals as defined by the state are listed as Category 4 animals and require a permit.




  • Ohio's laws have changed since the Zanesville massacre in 2011.  Since then the Dangerous Wild Animal Act has taken effect and made numerous exotic animals illegal to own or require a permit to own what the state deems as dangerous. 2014 ushered in the last phase of the new laws.




  • Just get yourself a permit and you can own whatever animal you'd like here in the Mid-west. The state calls it a wildlife breeder's license.




  • All exotic animals (wild cats, bears, crocodiles, etc.) need a permit to be kept as pets in this state.




  • You must acquire a permit for the exotic animals that are listed as "exotic wildlife" by the state.


Rhode Island


  • Permits that require proof of adequate knowledge and housing for the animals desired are needed to possess primates and other exotic pets.


South Carolina


  • A permit to own native animals is needed, but there are no state laws concerning primates, reptiles or large cats.


  1. About.com
  2. Home
  3. Exotic Pets
  4. Skunks
  5. Exotic Pet Laws

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.