1. Home

Exotic Pet Laws

Laws On Exotic Pets


Exotic Pet Laws

Black bear

Photo © Getty Images/Ryan McVay



  • Wild animals are not allowed to be kept as pets here. Wild animals are defined as non-domesticated animals.




  • No large cats, bears, and wolf hybrids allowed in Michigan. All other animals not listed above need a permit.




  • This state has restrictions for owners of restricted pets that they acquired prior to the law changes. It is also unlawful to possess bears, non-domestic felines and primates.




  • Small felines such as ocelots and servals are allowed in this state without a permit, but inherently dangerous animals as defined by the state's law need a permit to be kept as a pet. The permit requirements are steep and the permit is only good for one year for one animal.




  • If you want to own one of the animals on this state's list of dangerous wild animals you must register it with the county the animal is kept in. Lions, tigers, wolves and poisonous reptiles are included in this list.



  • A permit is required if you want to have a "wild animal menagerie." This is defined as anyone who does not exhibit their large cats, bears, etc., and does not have a minimum or maximum number of animals listed.




  • There are no restrictions for reptiles or primates but you may not keep any non-domesticated felines, skunks, wolves or bears as pets.




  • Specific animals are listed as being prohibited in Nevada and include alligators, crocodiles, raccoons, and foxes. You may still own primates, elephants, wolves and non-domesticated felines.


New Hampshire


  • Primates, venomous reptiles, bears, wolves and other animals are prohibited.


New Jersey


  • Potentially dangerous species are on the list of prohibited pets but you may apply for a permit after meeting extensive, but practical, requirements.


  1. About.com
  2. Home
  3. Exotic Pets
  4. Skunks
  5. Exotic Pet Laws

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.