1. Home

Exotic Pet Laws

Laws On Exotic Pets


Exotic Pet Laws


Photo © Flickr user eleraja



  • Exotic animals are illegal in Hawaii. These include bears, large cats, wild canines and more.




  • Big game animals are not allowed to be kept as pets but you may keep any other mammal, reptile, or big found in the wild as a pet, as long as they are not of special concern (threatened, engangered, etc.).




  • Dangerous animals are not allowed to be kept as pets unless you are a zoo, licensed circus, or other acceptable organization. Dangerous animals include large cats, coyotes, wolves, bears, and poisonous reptiles.




  • No monkey laws exist in this state, but you do need a permit for dangerous exotic animals. This includes large cats, bears, wolves and coyotes, hyenas, venomous reptiles, gorillas, Burmese pythons, anacondas, and more.




  • This state is pretty straight forward with their exotic pet laws. No dangerous wild animal is to be possessed, owned or bred in Iowa. This is defined as non-domestic cats and dogs, bears, primates, numerous reptiles and more.




  • Kansas does not allow dangerous regulated animals to be kept as pets unless you are a zoo, sanctuary, or other approved facility. Dangerous regulated animals include large cats, bears, and venomous snakes.




  • No person may possess an inherently dangerous animal. This includes primates, dangerous reptiles, bears, large cats and more.




  • Unless you were grandfathered in, you cannot own a primate, bear or cougar in this southern state.




  • Permits are needed to possess or breed wild animals. You may not possess deer, bears, moose or turkeys.




  • A wide variety of exotic pets are restricted in this state. Wild felines, bears, raccoons, skunks, foxes, primates and other exotic pets are not allowed.


  1. About.com
  2. Home
  3. Exotic Pets
  4. Skunks
  5. Exotic Pet Laws

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.